River Day

This was to be our last day of relaxation before beginning what would be a two-day drive home. So we wanted to make the most of it. I was still pestered by the desire to do some river kayaking (even though, sadly, without whitewater), and my research had led me to information about the Bluestone River, less than an hour south of us. The Bluestone River and a dammed section of it, the Bluestone Lake, were available for kayaking. We decided to go there for a picnic and an afternoon of kayak explorations.

 

As has been the case for a week and a half now, the roads to get there were incredible. Winding, steep, and narrow. Once again I was glad I didn’t have the trailer along with me on this one.

 

The park was OK but not fantastic. There were hardly any people there, and we realized that the children are all back in school now. The pool was closed. We found a nice, quiet spot on the riverbank with a launching area for the kayak. I took about an hour and a half or two hours to paddle the river, and I saw lots of birds and wildflowers.

 

Here is a Great Blue Heron I was watching for a while:

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 8.56.46 AM

I saw a bird that I couldn’t identify. Later I looked at about 50 pictures of birds, and I couldn’t find any that even closely resembled it. What is it?

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 8.57.31 AM

Here is a white heron that I was watching:

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 9.06.48 AM

It was a relaxing day, but we didn’t meet any people to write about. Tomorrow we begin the drive toward home.

Author: eduJamesE

Loves Jesus, but not religious. A bit of an outdoorsman. Academic. Loves learning; loves teaching. A writer and a reader. Guitarist and a beginning mandolinist.

Leave a Reply

