Farewell Allegany State Park – For Now

Bears.

 

Caves.

 

Bear Caves.

 

Was there really any choice in the matter? I just had to take the hike to Bear Caves. Didn’t I?

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-8-56-12-am

So; yeah. There’s a trail called the “Bear Caves” trail. And yeah; there really are caves there. But no – there are no bears in the caves.

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-8-57-27-am

The park literature explains that bears don’t like the dampness and cold of these caves. But it doesn’t really explain why they are named “Bear Caves.” I guess it doesn’t really matter. It was a worthy walking destination, and it was quite cool to see the caves. No; I didn’t go into any of them. Most of them seemed too narrow, and they seemed to offer only a risk of getting stuck. So I just looked. In one of them I stuck my camera in and snapped a picture around the corner, but the pic didn’t turn out very nicely, so it isn’t even worth sharing.

 

So, on this last day at the park, aside from a nice hike to the caves, I didn’t do much except pack up the trailer and then drive home.

 

The drive home was mostly uneventful except for the fact that I almost plowed into a stopped school bus that was invisible over the crest of a hill above Naples. I guess I learned from that to take the hills and curves more slowly. Lesson learned.

 

Author: eduJamesE

Loves Jesus, but not religious. A bit of an outdoorsman. Academic. Loves learning; loves teaching. A writer and a reader. Guitarist and a beginning mandolinist.

Leave a Reply

