A Sunrise, the Beach, and the Marsh

Our campsite is mere steps from the Atlantic Ocean. Each day we’ve been here I’ve set my alarm clock so that I could get up and watch a sunrise on the Atlantic. Each day I’ve turned it off at 5:45 and rolled over in bed and missed out on the sunrise. To be fair to myself, it has been overcast on at least one of those mornings, so I would have been getting up early for nothing. This morning I was awake at 5:45 and I was telling myself that it was probably overcast again. I turned off the alarm before it rang. But I was awake. I took a look out the window. Not overcast. I dragged myself out of bed and took a look at the beach. The conditions were really good for a sunrise: mostly clear, but with wispy clouds thrown in for color. Off I went on a beach walk to watch my first Atlantic Ocean sunrise in decades. I was rewarded! I got a bunch of nice photos, but these three are my favorites.

MoonBeforeSunrise.JPG

SwirlySunrise.jpg

 

ReflectiveFoamSunrise.JPGFor the first time since we arrived, there was no wind. Since it was such a nice day we decided to bask in the sun on the beach most of the day. Remember that sentence about “no wind?” Well, by the time we got settled on the beach, the east wind had decided to blow again. Right in off the Atlantic. Which has just finished with winter. Yes; it was a cold wind. In spite of the sunny sky and the warmer temperatures, the wind made its presence known. Oh, and there was a beach fog too. What can you expect when you go to a beach in April?

 

Late in the day we took a walk on the “Life of the Marsh” boardwalk. We saw all sorts of birds and a lovely glitter on the waters of the bay. Our campsite for the night was in the Bayside Loop, because there was no site available for tonight in the Oceanside Loop.

GlitterOnBay.JPG

Author: eduJamesE

Loves Jesus, but not religious. A bit of an outdoorsman. Academic. Loves learning; loves teaching. A writer and a reader. Guitarist and a beginning mandolinist.

Leave a Reply

