A Step Toward The Blue Ridge Music Trail

Our 2017 mountain music quest began today. Our aim is to uncover the music of the mountains of North Carolina by sampling the Blue Ridge Music Trail. We are going to take our time getting to North Carolina, as we want to enjoy our Harvest Hosts membership and some quiet time in the mountains before we place ourselves in the presence of the musical masters. Our destination for today was a (Harvest Host) winery in southern Pennsylvania, not far from Gettysburg: the Adams County Winery.

 

We began the 275-mile journey at 9:30 AM, which should have given us plenty of time to arrive at the winery long before they closed at 6:00PM. Using our “normal” rate of travel, we should have been able to arrive by 3:00. However, today is Memorial Day, and I knew that there would be inevitable delays.

 

We managed to get out of Canandaigua shortly before the 10:00 parade was to start. We ran into a closed street, but we were easily able to work our way around the block and get quickly back on track. We were not so happy in Naples, however. We were diverted from Main Street at about 10:00, but the person diverting us did not tell us that the detour route was unmarked. I guess everyone just figures anyone in Naples at 10:00 on the morning of Memorial Day would automatically know how to avoid using Main Street. Well, I didn’t know. We got to a place where I had to make a choice: the straight-ahead choice, which looked smaller and more worn than the street we were on, or the slight right – up the hill – which looked like a more promising, more “normal” street. I chose the slight right. The only problem was, as I rounded that curve, I found the road rising up a longer hill and curving more and more to the right – exactly opposite the direction I needed to go. I realized I had made the wrong choice. This was clearly not the detour around Main Street.

 

I saw a place where I could pull off the road, and I thought I could attempt a turn-around before we got too far off track. The road was wider here, and there was a person’s driveway on the opposite side of the street. I noted that there was absolutely no traffic. I asked E to get out and watch the back of the trailer so I wouldn’t back into something, and I proceeded to start a turn-around attempt. Within moments, there were cars attempting to get through from both directions. But I was completely blocking the entire street. Within a few more moments it became obvious to me that I wasn’t going to be able to complete this turn-around attempt. I called to E to get back in the truck, and I quickly worked to get us out of the way and back on the road. The only problem was, now we were headed in exactly the wrong direction.

 

I was able to find my way back to town on back roads, and within about 20 minutes we were back where we had wanted to be all along.

 

The rest of the drive was pretty uneventful. The only excitement was when we heard (through text messages) that our daughter and son-in-law were on the same route through Pennsylvania on their way back home to Raleigh, NC. Soon after, they passed us, and we waved as they went by.

 

As we neared the Adams County Winery the countryside became more and more beautiful. This part of Pennsylvania has rolling hills, farmland, and nicely-kept homes. The last few miles were especially appealing. When we pulled in to the winery we were happy to find that we’d be parking on a concrete pad that was nearly level and easy to get into and out of.

IMG_0705.JPG

Our hosts, the owners of the winery were not present, but we were greeted warmly by several friendly employees. Andrea answered our questions about the farm’s and the winery’s history. When I asked if there were any stories to tell about the winery or any of the wines or labels, she showed us several of the labels and told a story about the picture on the “Tears of Gettysburg” wine. It was a sad story about two dear friends who had found themselves fighting on opposing sides of the Battle of Gettysburg. One of the friends lost his life, and as he lay dying he learned that his friend was also at the battle. He requested that the friend be located and that his possessions be given to him. Tears indeed.

 

The winery grounds were beautiful, with gardens and flowers everywhere.

IMG_0707.jpg

IMG_0710.JPG

Our trailer was parked right next to a small pond, and the sound of birds and frogs filled the air.

 

IMG_0711.JPG

Author: eduJamesE

Loves Jesus, but not religious. A bit of an outdoorsman. Academic. Loves learning; loves teaching. A writer and a reader. Guitarist and a beginning mandolinist.

Leave a Reply

